RSS

Wedding Trials II

03 Aug

I bought two new tips to try out for my wedding cupcakes.  I have a lot of practicing to do.  But more about that at another time.  I depleted my egg supply with a run through of the Flourless Chocolate Cupcakes.

The tricky thing with these cakes is that they “fall”.  So, how do you ice these without having too much icing for this really rich cake?

I don’t know.

  These lacy hearts I did completely free hand.  I melted chocolate chips in my handy-dandy candy making squeeze bottles.  I tried a couple of designs just to see what they would look like.  I was pleased with how they turned out and they look extremely elegant for such a fairly simple garnish.  Now, having to do a couple-hundred of these?  The thought makes my hand cramp.  Lucky for me I only need 100!

So what did I learn from this trial?  A few things:

1) Full-powered cream cheese icing is a little much for these fabulous cakes.  Must find something lighter.

2) Chocolate will not survive Rome, Georgia in July.  After being out for 10 or so minutes in my warm kitchen the hearts started to wilt!  Must try Almond Bark.

Successful trial?  I think so!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in Freshly Baked

 

Leave a Reply

 
