RSS

Tulips, two lips, trouty lips

07 May

    This picture is blurry.

  David (my brother, for those of you who didn’t know, or forgot) says that is why my cake pops look ridiculous when you put them next to the likes of Bakerella and The Cake Poppery.  But oh well.  They taste good, and you really can’t capture taste on camera, no matter how awesome your Nikon is.

 Technically I should not call these cake pops.  They are made with brownies.  Though, I do think I followed the “cake-like” recipe, which I normally don’t like.  Wait a second, I don’t think I actually made the brownies, I think the hubs did!  That actually makes more sense.  He would make cake like brownies.  I would make cake.  And brownies.  And then top the cake with brownies, with a nice layer of icing in the middle.  And on top.  And all around.

And then go lay down and grown groan* awhile because my stomach hurts because I had a piece of brownie cake, and then another one because it tasted so good, and then the piece of brownie that fell off, and see this never ending tale?  It’s probably a good thing that the hubs bought some mint flavored candy melts while he was at Henry’s last night–the cashier asked him if he had the munchies because he had bought: gummy sour straws, gummy bears, brownie bites, candy melts, pita bread and strawberries.  He went in to buy fruit.

Anyway, the hubs bought mint flavored candy melts, and I don’t really like mint in my desserts.  He was so excited when he got in the car; the dogs and I stayed in the car while he ran into Henry’s.  “I got mint flavored candy melts,” he said.  “I don’t like mint,” I said.  “But I do.”

Sigh.  I guess I have to make some mint flavored cake pops now.

Meanwhile, I got some mini Easter cookie cutters and made a good luck bouquet for a co-worker’s last day.  Cookie cutters are a very easy way to make shapes out of your cake balls.  Grease your cookie cutters and press the cake ball in, pull off the excess cake, pack and push the shape back out.  

These would be more complete with some leaves.  Maybe next time.

*Although, now that I think about it, my stomach probably would grow after eating all that dessert…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2011 in Freshly Baked, Pops

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Tulips, two lips, trouty lips

  1. Hubs

    May 7, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    I like the regular brownies better than the “cake-like” brownies. I just suggested to you to try brownie pops and to use the “cake-like” recipe. They were the best cake-pops yet. Brownie pops with mint will definitely be delicious.

     
    • Jessica

      May 7, 2011 at 8:26 pm

      And actually, as I discovered with this last batch of cake pops I made, the brownies worked in the yellow candy melts, and the cake pops didn’t!

       
  2. Noel Muniz

    May 7, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    I was looking for your contact info but couldn’t find any, if you have any questions about Cake Popping, email me at thecakepoppery@yahoo.com, your pops look perfectly fine.

     
    • Jessica

      May 8, 2011 at 9:03 am

      Wow, thank you Noel! I will add a “contact me” or something! Thank you for the offer of answering questions! I’m having a lot of fun experimenting and figuring things out.

       
  3. Sarah Moldenhauer

    May 7, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Well David is just silly. I think they are lovely!! Mmmmmm

     

Leave a Reply

 
