RSS

Birthday One

22 Mar
I wonder what's inside?

Open me

Here is my first attempt at Present Pops.  I will definitely be making these again.  I want to try making ribbon and bows out of fondant or gum paste.  The blue ribbon is made from canned cream cheese icing.  (It’s what I had.)  This icing definitely is not the right consistency to make good cake pop decorations.  Definitely stick with royal icing for decorating.  Buttercream might work ok if it is not too thin, and you let it dry completely before wrapping.

The squares were quite easy to make.  I started with a ball, and then patty-cake, patty-cake, baker’s man (seriously, that’s how I felt).  A little squashing, and flattening, and squaring off.  Just a little lengthier process than the round balls, but imagine the possibilities with square pops!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2011 in Freshly Baked, Pops

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Birthday One

  1. Ronda

    March 22, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Wonder if you could cut fruit roll-ups and use those?? Or candy straws!! If you have the kind you can twist apart, you may even be able to tie them around the pop.

     
  2. Jessica

    March 22, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Oooo, yeah. Both of those are good ideas! I can definitely give those a try.

     

Leave a Reply

 
