RSS

Super St. Patrick’s Day

18 Mar

It has been a busy week in the kitchen!  Pi day, a birthday (more on that later), and St. Patrick’s Day that had me cooking and baking!  There was a potato feast at the office and I cooked revised ratatouille, revised because eggplant is out of season and not being sold, so the hubs bought butternut squash instead.  The hubs and I chopped, sliced and diced out the wazoo Wednesday night, and the crock pot worked its magic Thursday morning.  It was tasty!  I’ve never had ratatouille before and it was mmm mmmm good.

But the real treat for St. Patrick’s Day were these:

These were also mmm mmmm good.

I hand shaped the pots, one or two of which ended up looking more like a volcano.  I shaped the pots and set on the pan for cooling flat side down, and they looked a lot like mushrooms.  These would make excellent Mario Bros. mushrooms.  Not today, Jessica…

This was the first time that my coating cracked.  I have several theories: the icing I used to mix with the cake was too cold.  The dipping coating was too hot.  I tapped the excess coating off too hard.  Who knows.  The few I noticed I dipped again, and all was well. 

Melted some chocolate in a disposable piping bag and used as glue to add the gold, aka yellow cake sprinkles.  Bagged, tied with some festive ribbon, and voila!  Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Disclaimer: No leprechauns were caught, tricked, or harmed in the making of these pots.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2011 in Pops

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Super St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Ronda

    March 20, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    I see Winnie the Pooh Honey Pots in your future, too!!!

     
    • Jessica

      March 21, 2011 at 6:49 pm

      If the occasion arrises! Bakerella did those for Disney. You can see them here. I did not follow Bakerella’s instructions for her hunny pots. I actually did not consult her instructions for making the pots until after I made mine. I was trying to go for a more cauldron like pot.

       

Leave a Reply

 
